Fuel settle for preseason split with Komets

Fort Wayne rallies for 5-2 victory in Allen County; Fuel begin regular season schedule Friday in Wichita

Oct 7, 2017

FORT WAYNE, IND. – In their second of two preseason contests against their in-state rivals, the Indy Fuel surrendered four unanswered goals en route to a 5-2 loss to the Fort Wayne Komets Saturday night at Allen County War Memorial Coliseum. For the second consecutive season, the Fuel split their exhibition home-and-home series with Fort Wayne, following a 3-1 Indy victory Friday in Indianapolis. 

With their preseason schedule completed, the Fuel open the 2017-18 ECHL season on the road next Friday night against the Wichita Thunder.

The Fuel built a 2-1 lead early in the second period, but four unanswered goals from Fort Wayne – including two in quick succession late in the middle frame – proved to be the difference. Forward Marc-Olivier Roy picked up three points (2g, 1a) for the Komets, including a shorthanded breakaway goal which tied the game at two at the 12:07 mark of the second period. 

Nearly four minutes later, forward Garrett Thompson found the net to give the home team a 3-2 lead, which they padded with third period goals from Tyson Fawcett and Roy.

Fort Wayne struck first when Gabriel Desjardins beat Fuel starting goaltender Matt Tomkins at the 5:24 mark of the opening frame. Indy pulled even at 12:14 courtesy of a Matt Johnson power play goal, with the lone assist going to Brandon Anselmini. It was the second night in a row where Johnson opened the scoring for the Fuel.

Indy seized its only lead of the night 1:13 into the second, when defenseman Travis Armstrong beat goaltender Garrett Bartus, with helpers coming from Connor Reilly and Tommy Olczyk. 

Tomkins took the exhibition loss, stopping 14 of 17 shots in two periods of service for the Fuel. Creasemate Etienne Marcoux made his Fuel debut in the third, stopping five of seven Fort Wayne offerings. The Komets also utilized both of their netminders; Bartus finished with 15 saves in just over 30 minutes of work, while Alex Sakellaropoulos was the winning goaltender of record after stopping all 16 shots faced through the final 29:42 of play. 

Indy finished the game 1-for-4 on the man advantage, while keeping Fort Wayne scoreless on one power play opportunity.

Opening Night of the 2017-18 Indy Fuel season arrives on October 21, and Ticket Plans are now on sale! Join the team for year four at Indiana Farmers Coliseum and receive priority access to seats for the 2018 CCM/ECHL All Star Classic! Learn more by visiting IndyFuelHockey.com or calling 317-925-FUEL. Keep tabs on the team during the offseason by following the Fuel on Twitter and Instagram (@IndyFuel) and don’t forget to ‘Like’ the Fuel on Facebook.


Back to All