Watson Selected to ECHL All-Star Roster

Watson Selected to ECHL All-Star Roster

Forward Spencer Watson will represent the Fuel at the 2020 ECHL All-Star Classic on January 22 in Wichita

Jan 6, 2020

INDIANAPOLIS – Indy Fuel forward Spencer Watson was selected to the 2019 ECHL All-Star Roster on Monday afternoon. Watson will represent the Fuel as part of the Western Conference All-Stars during the 2020 ECHL All-Star Classic in Wichita, Kansas on Wednesday, January 22. 


Watson, 23, signed with the Fuel in early August after he finished the 2018-19 season with the team after being assigned by the NHL’s Chicago Blackhawks. Appearing in 33 games with the Indy Fuel this season, Watson has tallied 20 goals and 19 assists, putting him in third place in the ECHL’s point standings. Watson enjoyed the franchise’s longest point streak earning eight goals and 12 assists through 14 games. 


A seventh-round draft pick in the 2014 NHL Entry Draft (209th overall), Watson has 98 ECHL games under his belt split between the Manchester Monarchs and Indy Fuel, earning 47 goals and 45 assists. In 23 AHL contests with the Ontario Reign and Rockford IceHogs, the 5-foot-10, 170-pound forward tallied two goals and three assists. Prior to turning pro, Watson played his junior hockey in the Ontario Hockey League splitting time with the Kingston Frontenacs and the Mississauga Steelheads.


Following the format established last season, the Warrior/ECHL All-Star Classic will feature a 3-on-3 tournament with four teams competing for the top spot. The host Wichita Thunder will make up two of the four teams and face-off against the other two teams made up of All-Star players from the Eastern and Western Conference. These four teams will compete in a 3-on-3 tournament with rally scoring in order to crown a winner. The 2020 Kansas Star Casino/ECHL All-Star Skills Competition will take place in between rounds of the tournament, with results counting towards the cumulative score.


There have been 68 players from the ECHL All-Star Game have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 52 since 2002 when the lineups began having players who coaches felt were prospects to move up to a higher level.


The rosters for the Eastern Conference and Western Conference All-Stars were determined in a vote of coaches, team captains, media relations directors, broadcasters and members of the media.


Eastern Conference All-Stars

G – Parker Milner, South Carolina Stingrays

D – Michael Brodzinski, Orlando Solar Bears

D – Joseph Duszak, Newfoundland Growlers

D – T.J. Melancon, Brampton Beast

D – Logan Roe, Florida Everblades

F –Roman Ammirato, Norfolk Admirals

F – Ralph Cuddemi, Reading Royals

F – Jake Elmer, Maine Mariners

F – Tommy Marchin, Atlanta Gladiators

F – Robbie Payne, Adirondack Thunder

F – Liam Pecararo, Greenville Swamp Rabbits

F – Jordan Samuels-Thomas, Worcester Railers

F – Brendan Warren, Jacksonville Icemen


Western Conference All-Stars

G – Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Cincinnati Cyclones

D – Brady Norrish, Idaho Steelheads

D – Taylor Richart, Utah Grizzlies

D – Justin Woods, Kansas City Mavericks

F – Cam Brown, Wheeling Nailers

F – Josh Kestner, Toledo Walleye

F – J.J. Piccinich, Tulsa Oilers

F – Peter Quenneville, Rapid City Rush

F – Dylan Sadowy, Kalamazoo Wings

F – Tyler Sheehy, Allen Americans

F – Shawn St-Amant, Fort Wayne Komets

F – Spencer Watson, Indy Fuel


The Wichita Thunder will host a draft party on Wednesday where the team will be split into Team Bolts and Team Hammers for the All-Star Classic.


In partnership with the Professional Women’s Hockey Players Association, four members of the U.S. Women’s Ice Hockey Team will participate in the All-Star Classic as part of the PWHPA’s barnstorming “Dream Gap Tour” that is visiting several cities in Canada and the United States.


Taking part in the All-Star festivities will be three members of the 2018 U.S. Olympic Gold Medal squad – Dani Cameranesi, Kali Flanagan and Gigi Marvin – along with 3-Time World Champion Annie Pankowski. Each player will be assigned to one of the four All-Star Classic teams, as well as participating in the Kansas Star Casino/ECHL All-Star Skills Competition.


The 13th class of the ECHL Hall of Fame will be officially inducted at a banquet, presented by BFL CANADA and Sutton Special Risk, on Tuesday, January 21 at 5:30 p.m. at the Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview, the Official Host Hotel of the 2020 Warrior/ECHL All-Star Classic.


For more information on the Warrior/ECHL All-Star Classic and to purchase tickets, please visit www.echlallstarclassic.com.


About the ECHL


Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for its 32nd season in 2019-20. There have been 668 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including six who have made their NHL debuts in the 2019-20 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2019-20, marking the 23rd consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com.


Single-Game tickets are now available for the entire 2019-20 Fuel season at Indiana Farmers Coliseum! Fans can also take advantage of a wide variety of Ticket Plans by calling 317-925-FUEL or visiting IndyFuelHockey.com. Don’t miss a second of the action during the 2019-20 season – follow the Fuel on Twitter and Instagram (@IndyFuel) and ‘Like’ the Fuel on Facebook. 




Back to All